Someone mentioned in my office today that 5th January is the day that people most commonly break their New Year’s Resolutions. I suppose it’s a good thing then I haven’t properly formulated a plan yet for mine, at least I can’t have messed it up yet!

Anyway, my resolution was to trust myself. However beyond crossing my fingers and toes, I haven’t come up with a good way to achieve that (plus recently I’ve also done too many stupid things, or forgotten them altogether, to realise I can’t trust my subconscious to take care of things anyway).  I realise that I need to put in a bit more effort than simply hoping for the best if I want to be able to trust myself. So without totally throwing that aim totally away, I think it needs to morph into resolving to be more capable. To keep things realistic, I don’t expect to become Capability Zee by the end of the year, but at least enough to get things done and for me and others to be happy with what I do.

My plan so far…

  • Write things down. No one’s memory (except my mother’s) is perfect, so no point trying to force it as that will never make me reliable. In the same vein, write notes of what I want to ask before talking to someone, and make notes as I talk to someone on the phone. (Also find out how to work the phone at work so I’m not flustered before I even begin)
  • Try three easy ways to solve things. If that doesn’t work, ask for help. If I need help, explain what I tried to do myself – hopefully that will make people see I’m not helpless, and show myself I’m not 100% useless.
  • Thank people every time for anything they’ve done (as well as being genuinely thankful, hopefully that will convince them and me that they did it out of the goodness of their heart and not because I was so useless that their action was necessary. Also will remind me not to assume others know I’m grateful)
  • Don’t assume or guess, or second guess either. Ask what I need to know, say what I know.
  • Tell myself I can be capable. (I think I can…I think I can…I think I can…I think I can…)

I guess this is a combination of being prepared, asking for help, and telling myself that I can do it. None of it is new, but if this serves as a reminder to me to do it (and now it’s written down too-I can check the first off my list!), then it’s a good thing.

This hasn’t solved the idiot stuff I do when I’m not concentrating, or what to do when things go wrong (maybe that’s a time to ask for help?). Those can be for next year.

