Monday, 12th December

I'm not quite ready to take over the world with my knitting, but it was still fun to make some wearable, if square toed, slippers.

Tuesday, 13th December 2011

The family of Poppy, the dog my landlady pet-sat last weekend, invited us for supper. This is the a Christmas card I made for them. It took them a while to realise that it really was their dog pulling Santa's sleigh!

Wednesday, 14th December

Another quiet night in...sloe gin, Masterchef, jigsaws and knitting. This is the jigsaw my landlady and I have been working on. It's a nice relaxing change to come in from an irritatingly unproductive day at work and then do something, if only another elf or fence line, and have something to show for it!

Thursday, 15th December

Went to a rowing club pie&pint get-together at a pub close to the middle of no where. Car lights on the silvery weathered fence in the car park made a contrast to the darkness everywhere elsewhere. I'm not sure I've ever been along roads in such pitch black darkness!

Friday, 16th December 2011

Ooh snow! I possibly gave the office a running commentary on the consistency of snowflakes outside the window for the whole morning! But that's ok...I'm just a girl from some sub-tropical island (ignoring the fact I've spent quite a few winters in the UK while at uni!)

Saturday, 17th December

After squeezing in a rowing session in the morning, I zipped off (in the loosest sense of the word) to Bristol for a uni friend’s Christmas party.

Crossing England from east to west included passing by the new Olympic site. It was fun seeing some of the landmarks there, though I'm not totally taken with Anish Kapoor's hookah pipe. I wish it were something that I could actually picture in my mind. Something simple like Seattle's Space Needle or the Eiffal Tower. But what do I know?

Sunday, 18th December

The Christmas party was fun. It was the first time seeing a lot of my friends, and a couple of lecturers, outside of the university context. Hopefully our stressed memories of each other (mine of them are good but patchy, while theirs of me are intact but ‘traumatic’, apparently) can be reset with happy memories of mulled wine flowing through the evening, and ping pong and Cointreau at the breakfast table this morning!

I couldn’t get away from uni work totally though. The railway passes by one of sites for my major design projects last year:

I like to think my eco-quarter proposals round the potentially pleasant canal would be an improvement on the current derelict buildings and rambling car sales yards!

I liked the ticket inspector's tree cut-stamp Christmassy touch

