A public note to self (in the hope I actually follow it):

  • Don’t stay late at work. No one will thank you.
  • Don’t stay late at work ‘to catch up on work so I have something to show for my day’s work’
  • Don’t let a bit of rain put you off going home at a normal time
  • Don’t catch yourself saying ‘I’m ok with staying late as I’m enjoying it’
  • Don’t believe it when you catch yourself saying, ‘it’s ok, if I didn’t enjoy it I know I wouldn’t stay a minute longer than I have to”
  • Don’t eat a cupcake at tea and let that be supper
  • Don’t forget supper altogether

I like to think that if I learnt any lessons at university, it’s that work isn’t worth it for my happiness. (and that healthy eating is always a good thing to remember.) Except unfortunately, as much as I’d like to say, ‘well if my employers don’t like what I can manage, then I’d rather not work for them at all’, I don’t have the guts to say or do that, and ultimately I do want to try as hard as I can to make sure what I do do is ok at the end of the day.

I caught myself doing/saying all of the above things today. I suppose it’s ok once in a while, and in the grand scheme of things I wasn’t very late back (although enough to be too late and tired to get ready for zumba this evening). But I really don’t want to find that becoming a habit. I know how slippery a slope ‘a bit of stress’ can be.

(Update Wednesday 7th Dec: Failed on work timings, but at least didn’t have excuse of rain and I remembered to eat, lots :S)

