Today I dropped my first job application and portfolio off! Given my stresses over university over the past few years, and especially the final year, this is quite major for me and I thought it was worth of a post of its own!

At the moment I am figuring that I will be happy to make 50-60 job applications and attend 14 interviews before I give up/change tack. The first few I will definitely treat as practices. Rather arbitrary figures, but I’m trying to keep the pressure off myself for now, as I know that stress won’t help anything.

To celebrate, I met up with a friend to visit the Serpentine Pavilion.

 The 2011 Serpentine Pavilion, designed by Peter Zumthor

A rather unassuming black box building – I’m not surprised I missed it when I first tried to visit in August. In fact it is in Kensington Gardens, not Hyde Park as I’d been told, so that is another reason why we didn’t spot it the first time.

According to the blurb, it is inspired by fenced Alpine kitchen gardens. I’m not sure I would have guessed that! A narrow, dark corridor wraps around the inside edge of the building, and contrasts to the airy flower spikes and seedheads in the courtyard garden within the building. The plants were especially bright with the backlit sun streaming through them.

